Customer Reviews

To read all of our Trip Advisor reviews, please Click Here

We are very grateful to all those customers who give up their time to post a review. Thanks to their feedback, we have been rated the top walking tour in Cambridge for several years running. Here are some of our  reviews:

Fantastic Tour

We took a tour for our anniversary to get to know our home city better. It was a pure joy to be guided by Chris who knew so many wonderful facts and anecdotes about the different buildings and people we came across. The highlight was Kings College Chapel which was amazing to stare at the vaulted ceiling and learn about the history behind the politics and religion of the time. Chris painted a beautiful picture of how the city has evolved over time to become the bustling hub of science and learning that we see today. Would highly recommend.

JF. Cambridge. June 2018.

Highlight of our Trip

Mary was recommend to us by a friend. She surpassed all expectations! Mary is a truly fantastic tour guide- engaging and entertaining! She managed to cater perfectly for the range of ages within our group, carefully selecting stories and facts that appealed to everyone. Her knowledge of Cambridge is next to none and would highly recommend her for those wanting to gain a better understanding of the rich history of Cambridge.

BZ. Los Angeles. June 2018.

Corporate Tour – First Class

I can’t recommend Cambridge Tour guides highly enough. Excellent communication from the initial enquiry through to the tour itself. We had 2 guides for our large corporate group who met us at our hotel. Tony Rodgers and Beverley van Buuren who were both excellent, so knowledgeable and made the tour also great fun as we had a lively mixed group. They even tailored the walk to stop at one of Cambridge’s oldest pubs and finished the tour at the restaurant we had booked for dinner. For an informative, fun tour, I wouldn’t hesitate to rebook.

SueM. Lincolnshire, UK. June 2018.

Very Informative and Interesting Tour.

Our guide Mary was lovely- a very sweet lady who was very personable , and very knowledgeable about Cambridge’s history. The tour was very interesting- we learnt a lot, and would highly recommend.

KYMM. Gold Coast, Australia.

Amazing Tour – Highly Recommend

My husband and I had only a day in Cambridge so wanted to maximize our time. We were able to do just that on a two hour tour with Beverly.
She was wonderful, showing us the highlights of the city, explaining the university system, discussing history and architecture. We definitely would have liked to spend more time not only in the city but with Beverly herself. She was an absolutely wonderful guide/person.

TG. Avon, Connecticut, USA. June 2018.

Awesome Tour – Definitely Recommend

Tony Rodgers gave us an amazing tour of Cambridge. Highly knowledgeable, very engaging and oh so witty. I found the vast amount of information fascinating and he put it across in a way that was easy to understand and absorb. Best tour I’ve been on in my opinion!

Sharon R. May 2018.

A group of 15 ladies enjoyed a wonderful walking tour with Chris our private tour guide. He was friendly, informative and mindful of our group size. Cambridge is such a great city. May 2018.

Excellent

Tony Rodgers gave our group a great guided walking tour. Informative, witty, entertaining. First class. Catering for a multi-national Group must be a challenge but Tony pulled it off with aplomb his his affable English charm.

Jamie A. Belfast. April 2018.

January 2018: we had a simply marvellous morning in Cambridge and although a very cold day saw it at its best on a sunny day with blue skies. Tony Rodgers was an excellent guide – knowledgeable, upbeat, enthusiastic and full of interesting side stories.

November 2017: I can’t say enough good things about seeing Cambridge with Chris and Tony. We were a family group of four, ranging from age 21 to 79, so we really appreciated the ability to schedule a private tour, which we could do at our own pace depending upon how everybody was feeling. Prior to arriving in Cambridge, Chris asked questions so that he could design the best tour for our particular group. To my delight, he also provided invaluable help in making additional plans for our visit, including pointing out the vegan restaurants and shops for my daughter and the best options for afternoon tea for my mother-in-law, as well as noting the special exhibits in town and local performances of interest. All of his advice was well above and beyond the expectations of a tour guide, and it was spot on.

November 2017: we met Chris for our tour on a dreary Saturday afternoon. He had kindly delayed the walking tour for a few hours since it was a very rainy morning. Chris made the tour very interesting by sharing the history of each of the sites we visited and the area in general. He answered our questions and told us great stories of the area. He was knowledgeable and fun. We ended the tour at a historic pub and had a nice pint of ale with him. He was also helpful by providing us with information on places to go and see during the rest of our visit. We highly recommend a tour with Chris.

November 2018: Tony was an amazing guide. He is brimming with facts, but adds a unique humour to his tour. Having been living in Cambridge most of his life, he is part of the fabric of he place and seemed to know some niche facts whilst wandering past the incredible buildings that are on show.

October 2017: eight friends booked a personal 2 hour tour of Cambridge – the only way to see and learn about a city. Bev was a fantastic guide and ensured that the tour was tailor-made to meet our interests. A lively, fun tour, with lots of anecdotes and recommendations for other activities for the rest of the day. We would thoroughly recommend the tour team for anyone visiting Cambridge.

August 2016: “Dear Chris, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the excellent tour we had on Monday. Mary was the best guide we could ever have hoped for, and more. And the way in which you organised it all was entirely efficient and helpful. The entire experience, right from my first contact with you up to the four of us saying goodbye to Mary was only a delight. Thank you again”

Lesia.

August 2016: “I visited Cambridge with my Two sons age 10 and 8, who didn’t want to go on a tour. Tony managed to engage their attention within 10 seconds and they where transfixed throughout !!! We all enjoyed hugely the tour, lots of humor and captivating history of Cambridge. Thank you Tony”.

Leni Whitford, Toulon France.

July 2016: “We really enjoyed this walking tour with Chris who was very knowledgable and friendly. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cambridge.”

Yvette, Sydney, Australia.

June 2016: “Our guide, Chris Skilton, was excellent with a real insider’s knowledge of Cambridge city and the history of “town/gown” relations. As well as the obvous attractions, he took our group to more hidden places, including St Bene’ts (short for St Benedict’s), and explained a wealth of things, including medieval owl holes, the importance of the Rutherford Laboratory to nuclear science and the place and role of women in the University’s history.”

Paul, London.

June 2016: “We took a group of university students on a tour of Cambridge and asked that it be related to the courses they were taking. Our guide did exactly that and we all enjoyed the experience and the learnings. Beverly was a skilled guide and made the trip a memorable one.”

Spokane, Washington.

June 2016: “This private tour was a family treat. We spent a very enjoyable couple of hours with Tony who gave us a great insight into Cambridge past and present. Tony wasn’t just knowledgeable and informative, he engaged us all, and was very happy to tailor the walk to our interests. So lovely to have the luxury of a small group tour. Highly recommended.”

June 2016: “We have had a wonderful weekend in Cambridge thanks to our tour guide Tony. We enjoyed the punting experience, then the Cambridge tour with lunch in Eagle restaurant at the famous DNA table.  Thank you Tony, for the wonderful experience!”

March 2016: “Exceptionally enjoyable, erudite, informed, detailed, interesting, historical and contemporary tour around Pembroke, Queens, Corpus and the Eagle with Chris Skilton. We were a family group of five, there was something for everyone from deep history to trivia, from amusing anecdote to world changing research. Highly recommend this – we will be back!”

Ben. Bedford.

“Excellent tour with great guides”

March 2016: “Chris and Anthony managed to keep 30 cold and tired teenagers entertained and on their feet for the better part of an hour, providing a stellar walking tour through Cambridge’s historical city center. Engaging, humorous, and very informative! These guys know their stuff, and are very accommodating. We are definitely using Cambridge Tour Guides again!”

Mads. Denmark.

“Amazing Guided Tour”

“Fascinating tour around Cambridge’ s most famous attractions! Totally recommend this tour. One of the guide’s name is Chris, he has a very understandable english and full of knowledge.”

Sofia S. Argentina.

“We learnt a lot from this tour!”

“A very interesting tour from Mary Forster-Lewis, a great guide. She is the wife of a Cambridge University professor. Anybody visiting Cambridge with an interest in this great university town should book this tour. My sister was in a wheelchair and this was not a problem for this tour.”

Leon V. Netherlands

 

Cotts. New Zealand.

“Excellent tour guided by Mr.Chris Skilton”

November 2015: “It has been a very enriching and inspiring walking tour of Cambridge, which shows our guests some of the greatest  essence of Cambridge. Mr. Chris Skilton has done really wonderfully coping with our last minute booking, the tour being 30 minute late starting and 40 minute late finishing. Will surelly keep in contact. Best regards.”

Jinzhao L.

June 2015: “Our groups were made up of approximately 17-18 people each and in one of those groups in particular 8 different languages were spoken – Chris and his team were unfazed by this. All who joined the tour were impressed with the knowledge, attitude and pride that the guides have in their beautiful city. I couldn’t recommend Chris, Tony and Beverly highly enough.”

Rebecca. London.

“We booked a two hour walking tour with Tony (what a legend!) and loved every minute. We asked him to focus particularly on science and he did not disappoint. Our 16 year old son loved the tour as much as we did, and our daughters would have loved it had they been there. Highly recommend without reservation.”

Sarah.

“Mary was our guide and she was fantastic! She gave a great overview of the university structure, history of the town, and an insider look into what life in Cambridge is really like. I would highly recommend Mary to any future traveller!”

Franny, Athens, Ohio.

April 2015: “Graham and I have been on a lot of tours around the world, yours is one of the best.  The booking was very easy and communication is excellent.  It was a really nice touch that you told us about the weather before the actual trip and the fact that you timed our trip to end where dinner was”.

“My family spent 2 hours with Chris for the tour. It’s fantastic, and was one of the best afternoon of our uk tour. Chris knows Cambridge more than 20 years. As a friendly, polite and knowledgeable gentle man, He answered all the questions we have. And showed us the great places in Cambridge. Thanks Chris, see u next time”.

 

February 2015: “Tony was very informative and at the same time was very much a people person. He kept the whole group amused and entertained throughout the whole tour.
It was an excellent day”.

“We had a really good historically informative ghost tour on Monday 16th February with Tony. There were three of us in our party.The weather was rainy and cold, but this didn’t stop Tony from making our tour all that we had anticipated. I would recommend Tony’s tour to anyone. I will be visiting Cambridge again and will definitely take one… “

September 2014: “We had never used a professional guide and will do so in the future. Our guide was Chris Skilton; ask for him by name! He met us at our parking garage; and escorted us to amazing places with intelligent narratives and insight into the historical cobwebs. He also took us to the Eagle Pub in Cambridge where the structure of DNA of announced by Crick & Watson; he even made lunch reservations overlooking the river. It was just 4 of us; and it was refreshing to hear a guide speak from a very educated point of view on so many topics.”

Texas, USA.”

August 2014: “Cambridge Tour Guides is a well organized company, and the service is excellent (on-time, thorough, helpful, interactive, etc.). But our experience was above & beyond our expectation because of Chris, for several reasons. First, Chris is a retired foreign service personnel, so he brings along a perspective that’s unusual in guided tours. Second, he is a great story teller, and his recounting of American servicemen in WWII was heart-felt and original. Third, he truly enjoys the tour himself, and it shows when he has to deliver the same story to us, it’s still genuine, and humorous. If you love history and appreciate how the British has such strong command of history, Chris is a must see when you visit Cambridge 🙂 Thank you, Chris!”

David C. Los Angeles