Customer Reviews

To read all of our Trip Adviser reviews, please Click Here

We are very grateful to all those customers who give up their time to post a review. Here are some recent reviews:

 

August 2016: “Dear Chris, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for the excellent tour we had on Monday. Mary was the best guide we could ever have hoped for, and more. And the way in which you organised it all was entirely efficient and helpful. The entire experience, right from my first contact with you up to the four of us saying goodbye to Mary was only a delight. Thank you again”

Lesia.

August 2016: “I visited Cambridge with my Two sons age 10 and 8, who didn’t want to go on a tour. Tony managed to engage their attention within 10 seconds and they where transfixed throughout !!! We all enjoyed hugely the tour, lots of humor and captivating history of Cambridge. Thank you Tony”.

Leni Whitford, Toulon France.

July 2016: “We really enjoyed this walking tour with Chris who was very knowledgable and friendly. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cambridge.”

Yvette, Sydney, Australia.

July 2016: Sue F. Bury St Edmunds – “Always loved Cambridge and after an interesting, informative and fun two hour walkabout with Chris, will enjoy Cambridge even more. We started with a most enjoyable and interesting tour of the Fitzwilliam museum before moving on to the colleges, churches and of course the Eagle. Thanks Chris great tour.”

June 2016: “Our guide, Chris Skilton, was excellent with a real insider’s knowledge of Cambridge city and the history of “town/gown” relations. As well as the obvous attractions, he took our group to more hidden places, including St Bene’ts (short for St Benedict’s), and explained a wealth of things, including medieval owl holes, the importance of the Rutherford Laboratory to nuclear science and the place and role of women in the University’s history.”

Paul, London.

June 2016: “We all enjoyed your tour immensely!  We left Cambridge with a much better understanding of it’s rich history and that was exactly what we were looking for.  We loved your enthusiasm and stories.  Overall the tour was a 10 and we greatly appreciate you making our day so special”.

Beth, California.

June 2016: “We took a group of university students on a tour of Cambridge and asked that it be related to the courses they were taking. Our guide did exactly that and we all enjoyed the experience and the learnings. Beverly was a skilled guide and made the trip a memorable one.”

Spokane, Washington.

June 2016: “This private tour was a family treat. We spent a very enjoyable couple of hours with Tony who gave us a great insight into Cambridge past and present. Tony wasn’t just knowledgeable and informative, he engaged us all, and was very happy to tailor the walk to our interests. So lovely to have the luxury of a small group tour. Highly recommended.”

March 2016: “I took a group of friends from scattered parts of the country on Tony’s walking tour of Cambridge. Personally, I’ve done one of Tony’s tours before, so knew what to expect but wasn’t sure if it would engage the whole group. I need not have concerned myself. Tony provided a tour that was skilful in being both informative and entertaining, with plenty of witty anecdotes, and knew exactly how to draw everyone in and keep them interested. The result was a tour that kept everyone engaged, interested and entertained for the duration. Many thanks, Tony, I’ll be recommending you to anyone else who’s looking for an info-packed good time”. 

Isobel

June 2016: “If you have the luxury of doing a private tour through Cambridge, then you should put yourself in the trusty hands of Tony Rodgers. Being an alumni of the university and having stayed on as their rugby coach for several decades after, Tony will be able to take you through an intimate tour of the campus grounds, littered with interesting historical references and intimate stories of immortalized undergrad pranks, all conveyed with an enthusiastic yet controlled pride like a perfect English gentleman. That should be the only way to be properly introduced to Cambridge.”

Clifford L.

June 2016: “We have had a wonderful weekend in Cambridge thanks to our tour guide Tony. We enjoyed the punting experience, then the Cambridge tour with lunch in Eagle restaurant at the famous DNA table. Our teenage daughter was very amused by the interesting miss chief stories of Cambridge students, which were told by Tony with his great sense of humor. She bought a Cambridge University hoody and proudly worn it today to our local town with her group of friends. A person in the fish and chips shop joked to refused to serve her food, because he comes from “the other University” town. It makes her like Cambridge even more! Thank you Tony, for the wonderful experience!”

March 2016: “A very nice tour of about one hour around the different Cambridge colleges. Our tour guide Chris was engaging and gave us a lot of very interesting information. I would definitely recommend the tour to everyone interested in knowing more about about the history of Cambridge.”

March 2016: “Exceptionally enjoyable, erudite, informed, detailed, interesting, historical and contemporary tour around Pembroke, Queens, Corpus and the Eagle with Chris Skilton. We were a family group of five, there was something for everyone from deep history to trivia, from amusing anecdote to world changing research. Highly recommend this – we will be back!”

Ben. Bedford.

“Excellent tour with great guides”

March 2016: “Chris and Anthony managed to keep 30 cold and tired teenagers entertained and on their feet for the better part of an hour, providing a stellar walking tour through Cambridge’s historical city center. Engaging, humorous, and very informative! These guys know their stuff, and are very accommodating. We are definitely using Cambridge Tour Guides again!”

Mads. Denmark.

“Amazing Guided Tour”

“Fascinating tour around Cambridge’ s most famous attractions! Totally recommend this tour. One of the guide’s name is Chris, he has a very understandable english and full of knowledge.”

Sofia S. Argentina.

“We learnt a lot from this tour!”

“A very interesting tour from Mary Forster-Lewis, a great guide. She is the wife of a Cambridge University professor. Anybody visiting Cambridge with an interest in this great university town should book this tour. My sister was in a wheelchair and this was not a problem for this tour.”

Leon V. Netherlands

“Brilliant guided tour of Cambridge”

“Fantastic tour of Cambridge with guide Tony Rodgers. Kept our 9 and 10 year old captivated with interesting and interactive chat about Cambridge, its history and its stories. Brilliant tour, Tony is highly recommended!”

Cotts. New Zealand.

“Excellent tour guided by Mr.Chris Skilton”

November 2015: “It has been a very enriching and inspiring walking tour of Cambridge, which shows our guests some of the greatest  essence of Cambridge. Mr. Chris Skilton has done really wonderfully coping with our last minute booking, the tour being 30 minute late starting and 40 minute late finishing. Will surelly keep in contact. Best regards.”

Jinzhao L.

June 2015: “Our groups were made up of approximately 17-18 people each and in one of those groups in particular 8 different languages were spoken – Chris and his team were unfazed by this. All who joined the tour were impressed with the knowledge, attitude and pride that the guides have in their beautiful city. I couldn’t recommend Chris, Tony and Beverly highly enough.”

Rebecca. London.

“We booked a two hour walking tour with Tony (what a legend!) and loved every minute. We asked him to focus particularly on science and he did not disappoint. Our 16 year old son loved the tour as much as we did, and our daughters would have loved it had they been there. Highly recommend without reservation.”

Sarah.

“Mary was our guide and she was fantastic! She gave a great overview of the university structure, history of the town, and an insider look into what life in Cambridge is really like. I would highly recommend Mary to any future traveller!”

Franny, Athens, Ohio.

April 2015: “Graham and I have been on a lot of tours around the world, yours is one of the best.  The booking was very easy and communication is excellent.  It was a really nice touch that you told us about the weather before the actual trip and the fact that you timed our trip to end where dinner was”.

“My family spent 2 hours with Chris for the tour. It’s fantastic, and was one of the best afternoon of our uk tour. Chris knows Cambridge more than 20 years. As a friendly, polite and knowledgeable gentle man, He answered all the questions we have. And showed us the great places in Cambridge. Thanks Chris, see u next time”.

March 2015: ” Kudos to our wonderful guide Tony for keeping three women of a certain age engaged, charmed and interested. Many thanks for bringing this exceptional national treasure to life with your witty informative narratives. Looking forward to exploring more when we return!” Rebecca, Libby, Susan

February 2015: “Tony was very informative and at the same time was very much a people person. He kept the whole group amused and entertained throughout the whole tour.
It was an excellent day”.

“We had a really good historically informative ghost tour on Monday 16th February with Tony. There were three of us in our party.The weather was rainy and cold, but this didn’t stop Tony from making our tour all that we had anticipated. I would recommend Tony’s tour to anyone. I will be visiting Cambridge again and will definitely take one… “

September 2014: “We had never used a professional guide and will do so in the future. Our guide was Chris Skilton; ask for him by name! He met us at our parking garage; and escorted us to amazing places with intelligent narratives and insight into the historical cobwebs. He also took us to the Eagle Pub in Cambridge where the structure of DNA of announced by Crick & Watson; he even made lunch reservations overlooking the river. It was just 4 of us; and it was refreshing to hear a guide speak from a very educated point of view on so many topics.”

Texas, USA.”

August 2014: “Cambridge Tour Guides is a well organized company, and the service is excellent (on-time, thorough, helpful, interactive, etc.). But our experience was above & beyond our expectation because of Chris, for several reasons. First, Chris is a retired foreign service personnel, so he brings along a perspective that’s unusual in guided tours. Second, he is a great story teller, and his recounting of American servicemen in WWII was heart-felt and original. Third, he truly enjoys the tour himself, and it shows when he has to deliver the same story to us, it’s still genuine, and humorous. If you love history and appreciate how the British has such strong command of history, Chris is a must see when you visit Cambridge 🙂 Thank you, Chris!”

David C. Los Angeles